Sponsor the Wellington
April 12, 2011
  « Back « Previous Next »

For the second time in the past eight years the Wellington Dukes have won the OJHL Buckland Cup as they defeated the defending champion Oakville Blades by a score of 4 to 2 tonight and win the best of seven series in five games.

The Blades, for the third straight game, opened the scoring in the first period only to see a pair of Duke goals in the middle frame by Darcy Murphy and Joe Zarbo give the home side a 2 to 1 lead heading into the final period.

Oakville tied the game at two before Jan Kaminsky scored what would turn out to be the game winner with less then six minutes left in regulation.  The Dukes had to kill a late penalty and then with the Blades goaltender removed for an extra attacker Zarbo sealed the deal with an empty netter.  Three of the Dukes defensemen earned assists in the game, Brendan Barletta, Brandon McIntosh and Rusty Hafner while forward Sean Rudy chipped in with a pair of helpers.  Zarbo also earned an assist to give him a three point night.

Jordan Rudy faced 42 shots and finished the OJHL playoffs as the leader in wins (16), shutouts (3), GAA (1.71) and save % (.946).  During the post game proceedings he was named OJHL Playoff MVP.

The Oakville Blades are congratulated for their great season and their hard fought battle against the Dukes in the finals.

© 2017 Wellington Dukes Junior 'A' Hockey Club | All Rights Reserved.
Admin Panel Support Website Powered by: IT Masons